M.scio®

Reading inner values

for the big picture

FEATURES

  • Innovative, easy-to-use telemetric ICP sensor1,2
  • Multifunctional use for diagnosis and therapy support2,3
  • Improvement of clinical symptoms in up to 75% of shunt patients through effective therapy adjustments with M.scio support2,4
  • Savings potential of 69% in treatment costs for hydrocephalus patients4
  • Optimized patient management through reduction in the number of shunt revisions, diagnostic procedures and hospitalizations4-6
  • Stable long-term implant with high life time7,8  
  • Display of detailed pressure curves due to high sampling rate
    of 44 Hz2,5
  • Puncturability of the silicone membrane (M.scio dome variants)3,5
  • Reliable readings due to low drift of < 2 mmHg / 4 years7
  • MR conditional up to 3 Tesla9

SENSOR TECHNOLOGY

FOR TELEMETRIC MEASUREMENT OF INTRACRANIAL PRESSURE

Hydrocephalus and subarachnoid hemorrhages may be associated with a life-threatening increase in intracranial pressure (ICP). Determining the ICP is an important requirement for proper application of ICP-lowering measures.10 To date, there is no way to adequately determine intracranial pressures based on symptoms or imaging methods alone.11,12

In addition to measurement for initial diagnosis, it may be necessary to monitor intracranial pressure repeatedly over a period of years to ensure the desired therapeutic outcome. The information gathered can help prevent time-consuming and costly examinations and hospitalizations, thus improving patient well-being.2,4,5

The M.scio is a long-term implant for simple, non-invasive telemetric measurement of intracranial pressure.

 

From diagnosis to therapy

The M.scio can be used for diagnosis as well as for therapy support.

It can be implanted to determine intracranial pressure for diagnostic purposes.3 Moreover, the M.scio can also be integrated into a shunt to determine the ICP in the shunt.2-4 This allows conclusions to be drawn about the functionality of the shunt system and may help to steer treatment in a positive direction.2


M.scio without shunt system

 


M.scio with shunt system

 

FUNCTIONALITY

The M.scio makes it possible to measure and evaluate intracranial pressure non-invasively. The results can then be incorporated into diagnostic and therapeutic decisions. It is an advanced version of the SENSOR RESERVOIR.


Pressure is measured via a measuring cell located inside the M.scio. The electronics for pressure measurement are protected by the titanium housing of the measuring cell against external, negative influences that could impair its function - for a high functional reliability and a long service life.

The housing of the M.scio is made of the biocompatible polymer PEEK. The materials used are of the highest-quality and have been tested and standardized for use as implant materials. The catheters are made of silicone and are latex-free.

The M.scio is available in four variants: dome-angled, flat-angled, dome-inline, and flat-inline. Both “dome” variants fulfill the characteristics of a conventional reservoir in addition to intracranial pressure measurement. This means they allow therapeutic pressure relief through withdrawal of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF), diagnostic sampling of CSF, administration of fluids, and verification of pressure readings.

 

 

 

Reader Unit Set

The pressure values of the M.scio can be read out by the attending physicians with the help of the Reader Unit Set. The measured values are displayed and automatically stored with date and time on an SD card. For later detailed analysis, the data and curve progressions can be recalled with the Reader Unit Set and evaluated on a PC with ICPicture for further processing for research purposes.




 

measuring modes

Three measuring modes are available for recording pressure values with the Reader Unit Set.

SINGLE MEASUREMENT

With the single measurement, the pressure value measured at a point is displayed as a single measured value.
The measuring unit of the pressure value can be selected in the settings.

CONTINUOUS MEASUREMENT

During the continuous measurement, sequential single measurements are performed and the recorded measured values are displayed as a curve. The interval between the single measurements can be adjusted in the settings in the range from 1 to 300 seconds.

FAST MEASUREMENT

With the fast measurement, sequential single measurements are recorded at a high sampling rate (44 measurements per second) and displayed as a curve.

Quality Reference

A user survey within the scope of the clinical follow-up (PMCF study) for the predecessor SENSOR RESERVOIR impressively proves the long-term stability and quality of the telemetric pressure sensors.

RELEVANT DATA SIZE:
HIGH FEEDBACK RATE

This survey was conducted in 2019 and contains feedback on a total of 284 implanted pressure sensors.

HIGH SURVIVAL RATE:
STABLE LONG-TERM IMPLANT

95% (270) of the pressure sensors were still implanted in the patients at the time of the survey - without malfunction, many of them for more than three years.

HIGH USER SATISFACTION:
HELPFUL PRODUCT

100% of the users of the pressure sensors have evaluated it as a helpful product and an advantageous addition in the treatment of hydrocephalus.

 

 

M.scio

Product downloads

 

Download Area

 

 

Miethke Journal

The MIETHKE Journal is a platform for a broad spectrum of technologies and questions that doctors and patients inevitably encounter at some point in the treatment of hydrocephalus with shunt systems.
Hydrocephalus is our topic. Every day. Full-time.

DO YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THE PRODUCT?
WE ARE THERE FOR YOU

Thoralf Knitter

Head of Research & Development

Roland Schulz

Head of Product Management

Thammo Weise

Product Management

Andreas Bunge

Product Management

Michaela Funk-Neubarth

Head of Marketing & HR

Jan Mügel

Product Management

Josefine Kehl

Deputy Head of Marketing & Corporate Communications

August von Hardenberg

Product Management

Please input the following security code.

Captcha image

Your data will only be used for strictly appropriated processing and for answering your request. This consent can be revoked at any time by a message to us. In case of cancellation your data will be deleted immediately. Further information can be found in the privacy policy.

Fields marked with * are mandatory

OUR PARTNERSHIP
WITH B. BRAUN

B. Braun and MIETHKE - Together for a better life with hydrocephalus

We have a long and intensive partnership with B. Braun in the field of neurosurgery. We are driven by a common vision: to improve the lives of hydrocephalus patients around the world with innovative solutions.

Our partnership is an exciting combination of B. Braun's nearly 180 years of expertise as one of the world's leading medical device and pharmaceutical companies and our agility as an innovative company and technology leader in gravitation-based shunt technology. 

 

Our strong partner in neurosurgery:

www.bbraun.com

References

(1) Ertl P, Hermann EJ, Heissler HE, et al. Telemetric Intracranial Pressure Recording via a Shunt System Integrated Sensor: A Safety and Feasibility Study. J Neurol Surg A Cent Eur Neurosurg 2017;78(6):572-5.

(2) Antes S, Stadie A, Muller S, et al. Intracranial Pressure-Guided Shunt Valve Adjustments with the Miethke Sensor Reservoir. World Neurosurg 2018;109:e642-e50.

(3) Pennacchietti, V.; Prinz, V.; Schaumann, A.; Finger, T.; Schulz, M.; Thomale, U. W. Single center experiences with telemetric intracranial pressure measurements in patients with CSF circulation disturbances. Acta neurochirurgica 2020[cited 2022 Apr 28];162(10):2487-97. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1007/s00701-020-04421-7

(4) Bjornson, A.; Henderson, D.; Lawrence, E.; McMullan, J.; Ushewokunze, S. The Sensor Reservoir-does it change management? Acta neurochirurgica 2021[cited 2022 Apr 28];163(4):1087-95. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1007/s00701-021-04729-y

(5) Norager NH, Lilja-Cyron A, Hansen TS, et al. Deciding on Appropriate Telemetric Intracranial Pressure Monitoring System. World Neurosurg 2019;126:564-9.

(6) Thompson S, Thorne L, Toma A, et al. Telemetric monitoring of ICP within a shunt system. A single centre experience including the first in vivo comparison versus conventional intraparenchymal monitoring. Fluids Barriers CNS. 2017;14(Suppl 1):A63.

(7) MIETHKE Bench-Test

(8) PMCF-Survey 2019

 (9) Shellock FG, Knebel J, Prat AD. Evaluation of MRI issues for a new neurological implant, the Sensor Reservoir. Magn Reson Imaging 2013;31(7):1245-50.

(10) Huttner H et al.,IntrakraniellerDruck (ICP), S1-Leitlinie,2018 in: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Neurologie(Hrsg.),Leitlinien für Diagnostik und Therapie in der Neurologie. Available from: www.dgn.org/leitlinien [cited 2022 Apr 28].

(11) Evensen KB, Eide PK. Measuring intracranial pressure by invasive, less invasive or non-invasive means: limitations and avenues for improvement. Fluids Barriers CNS. 2020[cited 2022 Apr 28];17 (1):34. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1186/s12987-020-00195-3

(12) Le Roux P. Intracranial Pressure Monitoring and Intracranial Pressure Monitoring and Management. In: Laskowitz D, Grant G, editors. Translational Research in Traumatic Brain Injury. Boca Raton (FL): CRC Press/Taylor and Francis Group; 2016. [cited 2022 Apr 28] Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK326713/

M.scio®

Reading inner values

for the big picture

FEATURES

  • Innovativer, einfach anzuwendender telemetrischer ICP-Sensor1,2
  • Multifunktionaler Einsatz für Diagnose und Therapieunterstützung2,3
  • Verbesserung der klinischen Symptome bei bis zu 75% der Shuntpatient*innen durch effektive Therapieanpassungen
    mit M.scio Unterstützung2,4
  • Einsparungspotential von 69% der Behandlungskosten bei Hydrocephalus-Patient*innen4
  • Optimierung des Patient*innen-Managements durch Reduzierung
    der Anzahl von Shuntrevisionen, diagnostischen Prozeduren und Krankenhausaufenthalten4-6
  • Stabiles Langzeitimplantat mit hoher Lebensdauer7,8  
  • Darstellung detaillierter Druckverläufe durch hohe Abtastrate
    von 44 Hz2,5
  • Punktierbarkeit der Silikonmembran (M.scio dome Varianten)3,5
  • Zuverlässige Messwerte durch geringe Drift von < 2 mmHg / 4 Jahre7
  • bedingt MR-sicher bis 3 Tesla9
     

SENSOR­TECHNOLOGIE

ZUR TELEMETRISCHEN MESSUNG DES INTRAKRANIELLEN DRUCKS

Hydrocephalus und Subarachnoidalblutungen können mit einem lebensbedrohlichen Anstieg des intrakraniellen Drucks (ICP) einhergehen. Die Bestimmung des ICP ist hierbei eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Anwendung von ICP-senkenden Maßnahmen.10 Bislang gibt es keine Möglichkeit, die intrakraniellen Druckverhältnisse symptombasiert oder durch bildgebende Verfahren adäquat zu ermitteln.11,12

Neben der Messung zur initialen Diagnose kann es erforderlich sein, den intrakraniellen Druck über Jahre hinweg wiederholt zu überwachen, um das gewünschte Therapieergebnis zu gewährleisten. Die hierdurch gesammelten Informationen können dabei helfen, zeit- und kostenintensive Untersuchungen und Krankenhausaufenthalte zu verhindern und damit das Wohlbefinden der Patient*innen zu verbessern.2,4,5

Das M.scio ist ein Langzeitimplantat für eine einfache, nicht-invasive telemetrische intrakranielle Druckmessung.

Von Diagnose zu Therapie

Das M.scio kann sowohl zur Diagnose als auch zur Therapieunterstützung eingesetzt werden.

Einerseits kann es implantiert werden, um den intrakraniellen Druck für diagnostische Zwecke zu bestimmen.3 Andererseits kann das M.scio in einen Shunt integriert werden, um den ICP im Shunt zu ermitteln.2-4 Es erlaubt hierdurch Rückschlüsse auf die Funktionsfähigkeit des Shuntsystems und kann dabei unterstützen, die Behandlung in eine positive Richtung zu lenken.2


M.scio ohne Shuntsystem


M.scio mit Shuntsystem

FUNKTIONSWEISE

Mit dem M.scio kann der intrakranielle Druck nicht-invasiv gemessen, bewertet und die Ergebnisse in diagnostische und therapeutische Entscheidungen einbezogen werden. Es ist die konsequente Weiterentwicklung des SENSOR RESERVOIRS.


Die Druckmessung erfolgt mittels einer Messzelle, die sich im Inneren des M.scio befindet. Die Elektronik zur Druckmessung ist durch das Titangehäuse der Messzelle gegen äußere, negative Einflüsse, die dessen Funktion beeinträchtigen könnten, geschützt - für eine hohe funktionelle Zuverlässigkeit und eine lange Lebensdauer.

Das Gehäuse des M.scio besteht aus dem biokompatiblen Polymer PEEK. Die eingesetzten Materialien sind sehr hochwertig und für den Einsatz als Implantatwerkstoff erprobt und normiert. Die verwendeten Katheter bestehen aus Silikon und sind latexfrei.

Das M.scio ist in vier Varianten verfügbar: dome-angled, flat-angled, dome-inline und flat-inline. Beide "dome"-Varianten erfüllen zusätzlich zur intrakraniellen Druckmessung die Charakteristik eines herkömmlichen Reservoirs, d.h. sie ermöglichen die therapeutische Druckentlastung durch Entnahme von Hirnwasser (Liquor), die diagnostischen Entnahme von Liquor, die Gabe von Flüssigkeiten sowie die Verifizierung der Druckwerte.  

 

 

Reader Unit Set

Die Druckwerte des M.scio können durch die behandelnden Mediziner*innen mittels des Reader Unit Sets ausgelesen werden. Die Messwerte werden dabei auf dem Display angezeigt und automatisch mit Datum und Uhrzeit auf einer SD-Karte gespeichert. Für eine spätere Detailanalyse können die Daten und Kurvenverläufe mit dem Reader Unit Set erneut aufgerufen sowie für eine weitere Verarbeitung für Forschungszwecke am PC mit ICPicture ausgewertet werden.

 

 

Messmodi

Für die Aufnahme der Druckwerte mit der Reader Unit Set stehen drei Messmodi zur Verfügung:

EINZELMESSUNG

Bei der Einzelmessung wird der punktuell gemessene Druckwert als Einzelwert angezeigt.
Die Messeinheit des Druckwerts kann in den Einstellungen ausgewählt werden.

DAUERMESSUNG

Bei der Dauermessung werden sequentielle Einzelmessungen durchgeführt und die aufgezeichneten Messwerte als Kurvenverlauf dargestellt. Das Intervall zwischen den Einzelmessungen kann in den Einstellungen im Bereich von 1 bis 300 Sekunden angepasst werden.

SCHNELLMESSUNG

Bei der Schnellmessung werden sequentielle Einzelmessungen mit hoher Abtastrate (44 Messungen pro Sekunde) aufgezeichnet und als Kurvenverlauf dargestellt.

Qualitäts­referenzen

Eine Anwender*innenbefragung im Rahmen der klinischen Nachbeobachtung (PMCF-Studie) für den Vorgänger SENSOR RESERVOIR belegt eindrücklich die Langzeitstabilität und Qualität der telemetrischen Drucksensoren.

BELASTBARE DATENMENGE:
HOHE FEEBACKRATE

Diese Umfrage wurde 2019 durchgeführt und enthält Rückmeldungen zu insgesamt 284 implantierten Drucksensoren.

HOHE ÜBERLEBENSRATE:
STABILES LANGZEITIMPLANTAT

95% (270) der Drucksensoren waren zum Zeitpunkt der Befragung noch immer bei den Patienten implantiert - ohne Fehlfunktion, viele davon seit mehr als drei Jahren.

HOHE ANWENDER*INNENZUFRIEDENHEIT:
HILFREICHES PRODUKT

100% der befragten Anwender der Drucksensoren haben es als hilfreiches Produkt und vorteilhaft als Zusatz in der Hydrocephalus-Behandlung bewertet.

 

 

 

M.scio

Downloads zum Produkt

 

Download Bereich

 

Miethke Journal

Das MIETHKE Journal ist eine Plattform für ein breites Spektrum rund um Technologien und Fragestellungen, die Behandelnden und Betroffenen bei der Behandlung des Hydrocephalus mit Shuntsystemen zwangsläufig irgendwann begegnen. Hydrocephalus ist unser Thema. Jeden Tag.

HABEN SIE FRAGEN ZUM PRODUKT?
WIR SIND FÜR SIE DA

Thoralf Knitter

Leitung Forschung & Entwicklung

Roland Schulz

Leitung Produktmanagement

Thammo Weise

Produktmanagement

Andreas Bunge

Produktmanagement

Michaela Funk-Neubarth

Leitung Marketing & Personal

Jan Mügel

Produktmanagement

Josefine Kehl

Stellvertretende Leitung Marketing & Unternehmenskommunikation

August von Hardenberg

Produktmanagement

Die im Kontaktformular eingegeben Daten werden nur zum Zweck der Bearbeitung und Beantwortung meiner Anfrage genutzt. Eine darüberhinausgehende Verarbeitung oder eine Weitergabe an Dritte findet nicht statt.

Mit * markierte Felder sind Pflichtfelder

UNSERE PARTNERSCHAFT
MIT B. BRAUN

B. Braun und MIETHKE - Gemeinsam für ein besseres Leben mit Hydrocephalus

Uns verbindet eine intensive und lange Partnerschaft mit B. Braun auf dem Gebiet der Neurochirurgie. Dabei treibt uns eine gemeinsame Vision an: mit innovativen Lösungen das Leben von Hydrocephalus-Patient*innen auf der ganzen Welt zu verbessern.

Unsere Partnerschaft ist eine spannende Kombination aus der fast 180-jährigen Expertise von B. Braun als eines der weltweit führenden Medizintechnik- und Pharmaunternehmen und unserer Agilität als innovatives Unternehmen und Technologieführer für gravitationsbasierte Shunt-Technologie. 

 

Our strong partner in neurosurgery:

www.bbraun.com

Referenzen

(1) Ertl P, Hermann EJ, Heissler HE, et al. Telemetric Intracranial Pressure Recording via a Shunt System Integrated Sensor: A Safety and Feasibility Study. J Neurol Surg A Cent Eur Neurosurg 2017;78(6):572-5.

(2) Antes S, Stadie A, Muller S, et al. Intracranial Pressure-Guided Shunt Valve Adjustments with the Miethke Sensor Reservoir. World Neurosurg 2018;109:e642-e50.

(3) Pennacchietti, V.; Prinz, V.; Schaumann, A.; Finger, T.; Schulz, M.; Thomale, U. W. Single center experiences with telemetric intracranial pressure measurements in patients with CSF circulation disturbances. Acta neurochirurgica 2020[cited 2022 Apr 28];162(10):2487-97. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1007/s00701-020-04421-7

(4) Bjornson, A.; Henderson, D.; Lawrence, E.; McMullan, J.; Ushewokunze, S. The Sensor Reservoir-does it change management? Acta neurochirurgica 2021[cited 2022 Apr 28];163(4):1087-95. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1007/s00701-021-04729-y

(5) Norager NH, Lilja-Cyron A, Hansen TS, et al. Deciding on Appropriate Telemetric Intracranial Pressure Monitoring System. World Neurosurg 2019;126:564-9.

(6) Thompson S, Thorne L, Toma A, et al. Telemetric monitoring of ICP within a shunt system. A single centre experience including the first in vivo comparison versus conventional intraparenchymal monitoring. Fluids Barriers CNS. 2017;14(Suppl 1):A63.

(7) MIETHKE Bench-Test

(8) PMCF-Survey 2019

 (9) Shellock FG, Knebel J, Prat AD. Evaluation of MRI issues for a new neurological implant, the Sensor Reservoir. Magn Reson Imaging 2013;31(7):1245-50.

(10) Huttner H et al.,IntrakraniellerDruck (ICP), S1-Leitlinie,2018 in: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Neurologie(Hrsg.),Leitlinien für Diagnostik und Therapie in der Neurologie. Available from: www.dgn.org/leitlinien [cited 2022 Apr 28].

(11) Evensen KB, Eide PK. Measuring intracranial pressure by invasive, less invasive or non-invasive means: limitations and avenues for improvement. Fluids Barriers CNS. 2020[cited 2022 Apr 28];17 (1):34. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1186/s12987-020-00195-3

(12) Le Roux P. Intracranial Pressure Monitoring and Intracranial Pressure Monitoring and Management. In: Laskowitz D, Grant G, editors. Translational Research in Traumatic Brain Injury. Boca Raton (FL): CRC Press/Taylor and Francis Group; 2016. [cited 2022 Apr 28] Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK326713/